Saturday, 23 September 2017 23:05:32

History of rogaining

The history of rogaining

The concept of rogaining as a sport in its own right originated in Australia and traces its origin to the first public twenty-four hour event in 1972 and the first rogaine in 1976. However, for thirty years previously, university groups had organized related events.

The early Australian events

Rogaining can trace its roots back to the Melbourne University Mountaineering Club twenty-four hour walk in 1947 when Bill Bewsher sent five entrants through thickly timbered country between Warburton and Hurstbridge over Mt Donna Buang near Melbourne. Bill and Ian Leslie formed one team, geologists John McAndrew and Peter Crohn the other team and Noel Stephens swapped teams whenever the parties crossed paths. Thus began a tradition of mid-winter twenty-four hour walks.

In 1961, Ted Lovegrove moved from Melbourne to Adelaide and helped found the Adelaide University Mountain Club. The following year, he organized the first Adelaide University twenty-four hour walk. In 1963, Max Corry proposed that MUMC set up an intervarsity competition and unofficial contests between Melbourne, Monash, Adelaide and Newcastle universities were held from 1964 to 1968. These 'Intervarsity Mountaineering' events have been run ever since. The first rules were significant in that they specified a score event rather than a line event as hitherto favoured by Melbourne and Monash Universities.

In 1972, the Surrey Thomas Rover Crew (STR) undertook to run an annual twenty-four hour event for the public. The advent of this event was catalytic for the sport, attracting competitors who were entering several rogaines per year. This led to considerable improvements in competitive and organizational standards and significant transfer of ideas between the various groups. It was also obvious that some form of co-ordination was going to become necessary between the regular Melbourne University, Surrey Thomas Rovers, intervarsity, Monash and South Australian events. Perhaps the main realization to come out of the early 1970's was that the sport of twenty-four hour cross-country navigation had a far wider appeal and marketing potential than had been previously thought.

Rogaining - a sport is born

In 1976, there was one main issue preventing this activity developing into a significant sport. The concept of the sport was recognized but it had no name and hence little coherent life. Then, what had been a game to develop titles for events led to a name for the sport and a tradition of memorable names for key rogaines. The word "rogaine" was coined from the names of the organizers of a twenty-four hour hike in 1976, RO(d) GAI(l) NE(il), and was retained for subsequent events. When the Victorian Rogaining Association was formed, its members adopted "rogaining" as the name of their sport of long distance cross country navigation and the term was quickly adopted by the Scouting Association, Intervarsity Sports Association and university hiking clubs to give the new sport an identity in its own right. Soon the media, governments and international dictionaries had recognized 'rogaine' and 'rogaining' as new words in common use for a sport with distinctive characteristics of navigational competence, teamwork, self-reliance and endurance. The rogaining logo of the mountain in sun and darkness was designed by Sue Grice in 1978 and epitomizes the essential characteristics that set rogaining apart from most other forms of human endeavour.

One of the new association's first aims was to run an enthusiastic promotion campaign aimed towards the general public and within four years it had over a thousand members. Another aim was to initiate a state rogaining championship. Through an alliance with the Surrey Thomas Rovers, the first Victorian Rogaining Championships were held in December, 1976, in conjunction with the annual Surrey Thomas Rovers rogaine. The site for the rogaine at Tallarook was particularly popular - a forested granite plateau with a steep slope leading down to surrounding foothills. The cooperation between the Victorian Rogaining Association and Surrey Thomas Rovers continued for two decades. National rogaining championships and formation of a coordinating body.

By 1979, there was a clear need for a national body to take over the role of promoting the sport at a national and international level. Therefore, in February 1979, the Australian Rogaining Association was formed, with Victoria as its only member. No other rogaining association existed at that time.

Several months of planning led to the first Australian Rogaining Championships at Tallarook. In 1980, the Australian Rogaining Association developed guidelines for organizers and rules for the sport at a championship level. These rules reflect the new status of rogaining as a sport but still owe much of their character to the original rules prepared by David Hogg for the university competition. With international developments in rogaining, the Australian Rogaining Association has played a leading role in updating and maintaining the rules of the sport and the technical standards expected at major rogaines. Other major achievements of the Australian Rogaining Association have been the development of state rogaining associations in all other Australian states, continuation of the Australian Rogaining Championships as an annual event, strong support for the International Rogaining Federation, and financial and logistic backing of overseas rogaines.

Early in 1989, a planning group of Neil Phillips (Australia), Richard Matthews (Australia), David Stephens (Australia), Bob Reddick (USA), Pat Albright (USA) Andrew Newson (Canada), Ron Andrews (Canada) and Rod Phillips (Australia) began work towards the formation of an international organization for rogaining. On June 16th, 1989, the International Rogaining Federation (IRF) was formed at its inaugural meeting in Calgary, Canada, with Neil Phillips and Richard Matthews as president and vice-president respectively.

Before the formation of the International Rogaining Federation in 1989, four rogaines had been held outside Australia, all in western Canada. Five years later, fifteen different centres in New Zealand, United States and Canada had run a total of forty rogaines. Highlights in the early years of international rogaining included the Most Awesome Rogaine in Alberta, Canada, the 1st World Rogaining Championships near Melbourne, Australia, the 2nd World Rogaining Championships in Western Australia and the 3rd World Rogaining Championships in British Columbia.

History of rogaining in Canada (by Murray Foubister)

Murray Foubister organized the early Sage rogaines in British Columbia and was course setter for the 3rd World Rogaining Championships at Kamloops. He has represented Canada on the International Rogaining Federation since its foundation.

The first 24 hour rogaine outside of Australia was held in the western part of Alberta, Canada, in 1986. Andy Newson, Kitty Jones and Jim Force selected an area in the foothills of the Canadian Rocky Mountains, just outside Banff National Park. The 80 competitors had such a good time that the whole exercise was repeated in 1987. This time, thanks to keen interest and competition amongst various military groups, there were over 200 entrants. Rogaining was a success in this part of Canada, so Andy and Kitty formed the Rogaine Club based in Calgary and began to spread the word.

On a visit to Kamloops for an annual orienteering competition organized by the Sage Orienteering Club, Andy Newson told me about rogaining. I decided then and there to organize an event in the following year, even though I had never been to a rogaine! Drawing on Andy Newson's experiences, I ran the first rogaine in British Columbia in 1988. There was an excellent area of 125 square km at the edge of the grasslands very close to Kamloops and 30 teams came to this inaugural event. The weather was perfect and all appeared to enjoy themselves. Several competitors in this first British Columbia rogaine went on to organize their own events in the following year, including Ron Andrews running the first coastal rogaine in British Columbia a month later.

There was an early decision to closely model rogaines on the Australian design, to emphasize the social ambience of the hash house environment and to always provide a very high standard of food. The events took considerable work to organize which posed a problem for the small rogaining community in a town of 80,000 people such as Kamloops. It was soon decided to organize a major orienteering meet and a 24-hour rogaine in alternative years, with interspersed shorter rogaines.

The first international rogaine in 1990, The Most Awesome Rogaine, remains the best attended Canadian event to date, owing to careful planning between Andy Newson and the International Rogaining Federation who established a critical alliance with the Asia Pacific Orienteering Festival that began in Kamloops. A total of 330 competitors from 18 countries attended and this provided a catalyst for rogaining groups in Europe in later years.

In 1994, the Sage club of Kamloops hosted the first North American Rogaining Championships at Lac Du Bois. By 1997, the second 24 hour rogaine in eastern Canada was held in Nova Scotia. All this rogaining activity culminated in the 3rd World Rogaining Championships held at Douglas Lake Ranch, Kamloops in 1998. This was the Sage club's eleventh rogaine and the 25th rogaine in Canada. On an outstanding map and in record 40°C heat, 290 competitors in 137 teams entered from 15 countries.

History of rogaining in the United States (by Bob Reddick)

Bob Reddick organized the first United States rogaine in 1989, established the Rogaining Committee of the United States Orienteering Federation and was its first chairman. Bob is a founding member of the International Rogaining Federation and has represented United States on the IRF since 1989.

After participating in rogaines in Calgary and Kamloops in the late 1980s, I sought help from Neil Phillips at the International Rogaining Federation regarding guidance for running the first rogaine in the United States of America. Books, pamphlets and much advice were provided over many months and for the first time, the vetting of the course was performed on another continent, by Graham Foley at his desk in Melbourne. Publicity through the International Rogaining Federation led to three Australians attending the first USA rogaine and the opportunity was taken to gain considerable media attention and hold public lectures on rogaining in Seattle, Bellevue and Tacoma.

The first 24 hour rogaine was held over 100 km east of Seattle on the drier eastern slope of the Cascade Mountains in the Wenatchee National Forest. The Buck Meadows camping ground provided an ideal hash house site surrounded by open hills, pine forests and mountain streams. Being 1000 m to 1500m above sea level there was considerable snow on the higher northern-facing slopes and the larger streams posed a significant challenge to safe crossing.

The International Rogaining Federation gave high priority to the development of rogaining in USA because of the extensive suitable areas and the large population base. Close links were developed with the US Orienteering Federation who set up their own rogaining subcommittee. Through this, many other rogaines followed in North America. Shorter rogaines were held in the Adirondacks of eastern USA by Keg Good, Bill Jamieson and their colleagues, whereas the drier Arizona countryside was ideal for desert rogaines. Rogaines also were held in Colorado, California, New York, Virginia and Alaska.

In 1993, the eastern Cascades area was again used for a major rogaine, this time the first Western Hemisphere Rogaining Championships at Table Mountain which were to later become the North American Rogaining Championships.

The success of rogaining in USA is clear from the almost 150 rogaines in 19 different states over the first ten years. Several people have played a key role in this success including IRF delegates Eric Smith and Bob Reddick, leading rogainer and orienteer Peter Gagarin, Keg Good and Karl Moore.

8-9 May 2004 in United States in Arizona was held the 6th World Rogaining Championships. The United States also has been awarded by International Rogaining Federation the 12th World Rogaining Championships, which will be held 16-17 August 2014 in South Dakota.

History of rogaining in New Zealand (by Ken Dowling)

Ken Dowling organized the first 24 hour rogaine in New Zealand in 1994 and, with Michael Wood, has represented New Zealand interests on the International Rogaining Federation.

The first rogaines in New Zealand were organized by Michael Wood and Jim Maxwell of the Hutt Valley Orienteering Club in the Wellington region of the North Island. Initial events from 1991 were only 4 hours but these increased to a 12 hour rogaine in 1995; and in 1996, Hawkes Bay orienteering club organized a 12 hour rogaine.

Prior to the first rogaine in New Zealand, there was already a long tradition of extended cross country navigation events adopted from the Melbourne University Mountaineering Club 24 hour walk from 1967 onwards. These included the 24-hour walks (twalk) of the Canterbury and Southland districts and the UK style mountain marathon events since 1980. The first 6 hour rogaine in South Island was organized by Graham Frith in 1992.

In 1994, the Dunedin Orienteering Club organized New Zealand's first 24 hour rogaine near Wanaka in Otago. This rogaine incorporated 12 and 6 hour events and attracted 142 participants including some from Australia. The 2nd NZ Championships were held at Craigieburn in Canterbury.

There is considerable potential for rogaining in New Zealand especially given its outstanding scenery and suitable rogaining areas combined with a strong culture of outdoor activity such as hiking and the widespread interest in rogaining. This was recognized by the awarding of the 4th World Rogaining Championships in 2000 to the Peninsula and Plains Orienteering Club of Christchurch. Also New Zealand was been awarded by International Rogaining Federation the 9th World Rogaining Championships in 2010 in Cheviot.

History of rogaining in South Africa

Rogaining in South Africa was pioneered by Pieter Mulder and the ROC club of Johannesburg.
The first rogainewas in 2003 in the Suikerbosrand area 50 km southeast of Johannesburg, and several have followed annually.
South Africa is also regularly represented in World Rogaining Championships.

History of rogaining in Brazil

Rogaining is active in southern and central Brazil. Rogaining started in Brazil under the leadership of Jose Nilton Silva Vargas in January 2006 near Cacapava South in Rio Grande do Sul. The first 24 hours rogaine was in Mato Grosso do Sul in November 2008.

History of rogaining in Japan

A 6 hour rogaine was held at Sugadaira, Negano, west of Tokyo in 2002, and a 6 or 12 hours rogaine has been run each subsequent year.
In 2008, a series of ten rogaines was started with most being 3 - 6 hours rogaines.
The Japan Rogaining Association was established in June 2009, and there are now 400 rogainers in Japan.

History of rogaining in Hong Kong

The first 24 hours rogaine in Hong Kong was led by Patrick Ng after competing in the 7th World Rogaining Championships in 2006. It was held at Sai Kung in the New Territories to the northwest of Hong Kong island and attracted 663 participants. Rogaining has become a regular event with a 6 hours rogaine on Lantau Island attracting 700 participants in 2008. Rogaines in Hong Kong have been advertised through the metro rail system with great affects.

History of rogaining in Israel

The first rogaine in Israel was in 2005 under the leadership of Dan Chissik. This was an 8-hour rogaine in the Alonim forests attracting over 100 teams. Annual rogaines have followed in 2006 in President’s Forest, 2007 at Ramot Menashe and 2009 Ben-Shemen. Participation has been around 250-300 people, and the 2009 rogaine included a 12-hour event starting at midnight.

History of rogaining in Europe

See Rogaining in Europe chapter

Sources:
International Rogaining Federation materials
Murray Foubister
Bob Reddick
Ken Dowling

Воскресенье, 28 мая 2017 19:31:38

Рогейн в мире

Концепция рогейна, как вида спорта, возникла в Австралии и ведёт своё происхождение от первых открытых суточных соревнований в 1972 году и первого рогейна в 1976 году. Тем не менее, в течение тридцати предшествующих лет, университетские группы организовывали похожие соревнования.

Ранние соревнования в Австралии

Корни рогейна можно проследить в истории горного клуба Мельбурнского университета. В 1947 году состоялась 24-х часовая прогулка, когда Билл Беушер отправил пять участников через лесистую местность между Уорбертон и Харстбридж на гору Донна Буанг недалеко от Мельбурна. Билл и Ян Лесли сформировали одну команду, а геологи Джон Макэндрю и Питер Крона другую команду, пятым участником был Ноэль Стивенс. Так было положено начало традиции круглосуточных прогулок в середине зимы.

В 1961 году Тед Ловегроув переехал из Мельбурна в Аделаиду и помог основать Горный Клуб Университета Аделаиды. В следующем году он организовал первую круглосуточную прогулку Университета Аделаиды. В 1963 году Макс Корри предложил Горному клубу Мельбурнского университета провести межуниверситетские соревнования и эти неофициальные соревнования между университетами Мельбурна, Аделаиды и Ньюкасла и Монашским университетом проводились с 1964 по 1968 год.

В 1972 году "команда туристов Томаса Суррея" взяла на себя обязательство проводить ежегодные суточные открытые соревнования. Появление этого события послужило катализатором для развития спорта, привлечения участников. Это привело к значительному улучшению соревновательных и организационных стандартов и передачи идей между различными группами. Было также очевидно, что необходимы какие-то формы координации всех соревнований Мельбурнского университета, соревнований Суррей Томас Роверс, межуниверситетских соревнований, соревнований Монаша и Южной Австралии. В 1970-х годах спорт с 24-х часовой навигацией по пересеченной местности стал гораздо шире, увеличил привлекательность и маркетинговый потенциал, по сравнению с тем, что было ранее.

Рогейн - рождение спорта

В 1976 году осталась одна основная проблема дальнейшему препятствующая развитию этого спорта. Концепция этого вида спорта была признана, но у спорта не было названия. При разработке названия вида спорта были использованы имена первых спортсменов-рогейнеров. Слово "rogaine" было образовано от имён организаторов круглосуточного похода в 1976 году, RO(d) GAI(l) NE(il), и было сохранено для последующих соревнований. Когда Ассоциации Рогейна штата Виктория была сформирована, её участники приняли слово "rogaining" в качестве имени для спорта по навигации на пересечённой местности и термин был быстро принят в Ассоциации скаутов, межуниверситетской спортивной ассоциации и туристских клубах университетов, что дало новому виду спорта собственную идентификацию. Вскоре средства массовой информации, государственные органы и международные словари признали «rogaine» и «rogaining», как новые слова общего использования для спорта, связанного с навигацией, работой в команде, уверенностью в своих силах и выносливостью. Логотип рогейна (горы, солнце и ночь) был разработан Сью Грайс в 1978 году и воплощает основные характеристики, которые отличают рогейн от большинства других видов человеческой деятельности.

Одной из первых целей новой Ассоциации Рогейна штата Виктория было запустить рекламную кампанию, направленную на привлечение широкой общественности, и в течение четырёх лет ассоциация имела уже более тысячи членов. Другой целью было начать проведение чемпионатов штата по рогейну. Благодаря союзу с клубом "Суррей Томас Роверс", первый чемпионат штата Виктория по рогейну был проведён в декабре 1976 года, в месте с ежегодными соревнованиями "Суррей Томас Роверс". Место для рогейна в Таларук было очень популярно - залесённое гранитное плато с крутыми склонами, понижающимися к окружающим предгорьям. Сотрудничество между Ассоциации Рогейна штата Виктория и "Суррей Томас Роверс" продолжались в течение двух десятилетий.

Первый чемпионат Австралии по рогейну и формирование координирующих органов

В 1979 году возникла явная потребность в национальном органе, который должен был взять на себя роль по развитию спорта на национальном и международном уровне. Таким образом, в феврале 1979 года была сформирована Австралийская Ассоциация Рогейна, с Ассоциацией Рогейна штата Виктория в качестве единственного члена. Никаких других ассоциаций рогейна в то время не существовало.

Несколько месяцев планирования привели к первому Чемпионату Австралии по рогейну в Таларук. В 1980 году Австралийская Ассоциация Рогейна разработала руководящие принципы для организаторов и правила спорта для чемпионатов. Эти правила отражали новый статус рогейна, как вида спорта, но были основаны на первоначальных правилах, подготовленных Дэвидом Хоггом для соревнований университетов. В международном развитии рогейна Австралийская Ассоциация Рогейна сыграла ведущую роль в обновлении и поддержании правил спорта и технических стандартов для крупных соревнований. Другими значительными достижениями Австралийской Ассоциации Рогейна было развитие ассоциаций по рогейну во всех других австралийских штатах, проведение ежегодных чемпионатов Австралии по рогейну, сильной поддержке Международной Федерации Рогейна, финансовую и логистическую поддержку рогейна за границей.

В начале 1989 года группа: Нейл Филлипс (Австралия), Ричард Мэтьюз (Австралия), Дэвид Стивенс (Австралия), Боб Реддик (США), Пэт Олбрайт (США), Эндрю Ньюсон (Канада), Рон Эндрюс (Канада) и Род Филлипс (Австралия) начали работу по формированию международной организации по рогейну. 16 июня 1989 года Международная Федерация Рогейна (IRF) была создана и провела своё первое заседание в Калгари, Канада, с Нейлом Филлипсом и Ричардом Мэтьюзом, как президентом и вице-президентом соответственно.

До образования Международной федерации Рогейна в 1989 году, четыре соревнования по рогейну был проведены за пределами Австралии, все в западной части Канады. Через пять лет, пятнадцать различных центров в Новой Зеландии, Соединенных Штатах и Канаде провели в общей сложности сорок рогейнов. Основными событиями в первые годы развития рогейна на международном уровне были: рогейн в Альберте, Канада, 1-й Чемпионат Мира по рогейну недалеко от Мельбурна, Австралия, 2-й Чемпионат Мира по рогейну в Западной Австралии и 3-й Чемпионат мира по рогейну в Британской Колумбии.

История рогейна в Канаде (Мюррей Фоубистер)

Мюррей Фоубистер организовал первые соревнования по рогейну в Британской Колумбии и был начальником дистанции на 3-м Чемпионате мира по рогейну в Камлупсе. Он представлял Канаду в Международной федерации Рогейна с момента её основания.

Первые 24-х часовые соревнования по рогейна за пределами Австралии были проведены в западной части провинции Альберта, Канада, в 1986 году. Энди Ньюсон, Китти Джонс и Джим Форс выбрали район в предгорьях канадских Скалистых гор, недалеко от национального парка Банф. Соревнования прошли успешно, было 80 участников, и соревнования были повторен в 1987 году. На этот раз, благодаря большому интересу и конкуренции между различными военными группами, было более 200 участников. Рогейну был успешным в этой части Канады, так что Энди и Китти сформировали Рогейн Клуб в Калгари.

Во время визита в Камлупс на ежегодных соревнования по ориентированию организованных Сейдж клубом ориентирования, Энди Ньюсон рассказал Мюррею Фоубистеру о рогейну. Он решил организовать соревнования в следующем году, хотя он никогда не участвовал в рогейнах. Основываясь на опыте Энди Ньюсон, Мюррей Фоубистер организовал первый рогейн в Британской Колумбии в 1988 году. Район соревнований был площадью 125 квадратных километров и располагался недалеко от Камлупса, участвовало 30 команд. Была отличная погода и все участники получили удовольствие от соревнований. Несколько участников этих первых соревнований по рогейну в Британской Колумбии продолжили организовывать свои собственные соревнования в следующем году, в том числе Рон Эндрюс провёл первый береговой рогейн в Британской Колумбии через месяц.

Первые соревнования в Канаде использовали австралийский опыт проведения соревнований, чтобы подчеркнуть общественную атмосферу центра соревнований и обеспечить очень высокий уровень питания. Были проведены значительные работы по организации соревнований, что создало некоторые проблемы для небольшого сообщества рогейна в городе с населением в 80000 человек, таком как Камлупс. Вскоре было решено организовывать крупные соревнования по ориентированию и 24-х часовому рогейну, а также более короткие рогейны.

Первый международный рогейна был проведён в Канаде в 1990 году. Этот рогейн остается лучшим из канадских соревнований на сегодняшний день, благодаря тщательной организации Энди Ньюсон и Международной Федерации Рогейна, и сотрудничеству с Азиатско-Тихоокеанском фестивалем ориентирования, который начался в Камлупсе. В общей сложности 330 участников из 18 стран приняли участие в первых международных соревнованиях в Канаде, и эти соревнования послужили катализатором развития рогейна в Европе в последующие годы.

В 1994 году клуб Сейдж Камлупс организовал первый североамериканский чемпионат по рогейну в Лак Ду Бойс. В 1997 году состоялся второй 24-х часовой рогейн в восточной части Канады, он был проведён в Новой Шотландии. Кульминацией всей этой деятельности был 3-й Чемпионат мира по рогейну, который состоялся около Дуглас Лейк Ранчо в Камлупсе в 1998 году. Это был одиннадцатый рогейна Сейдж клуба и 25-й рогейн в Канаде. При температуре 40° C в чемпионате приняло участие 290 участников (137 команд), из 15 стран мира.

История рогейна в Соединённых Штатах (Боб Реддик)

Боб Реддик организовал первый в Соединенных Штатах рогейн в 1989 году, создал комитет по рогейну в федерации спортивного ориентирования США и был его первым председателем. Боб является членом-основателем Международной федерации по рогейну и представлял Соединенные Штаты в IRF с 1989 года.

После участия в рогейнах в Калгари и Камлупсе в конце 1980 года, Боб Реддик обратился за помощью Нейла Филлипса в Международную федерацию Рогейна в отношении руководства для проведения первого рогейна в Соединённых Штатах Америки. Книги, брошюры и много советов были направлены ему в течение нескольких месяцев, и в первый раз, проверка дистанции был проведена на другом континенте, Грэмом Фоли за своим столом в Мельбурне. Открытость соревнований при поддержке Международной Федерации Рогейна привела на соревнования трёх австралийцев, впервые посетивших рогейн в США, что вызвало значительное внимание средств массовой информации и публичные доклады по рогейну в Сиэтле, Беллевуе и Такоме.

Первый 24-х часовой рогейн была проведен в 100 км к востоку от Сиэтла на сухих восточных склонах Каскадных гор в национальном лесу Венатчи. Кемпинг Бак Медоу, который был центром соревнований, был окружён открытыми холмами, сосновыми лесами и горными потоками. На высоте от 1000 м до 1500 м над уровнем моря было значительное количество снега на верхних северных склонах, и большие потоки представляли собой серьёзную проблему для безопасного перехода дорог.

Международная федерация Рогейна уделяет приоритетное внимание развитию рогейну в США в связи с обширными подходящими районами и большой базой населения. Тесные связи были установлены с Федерацией спортивного ориентирования США, которые создали свой подкомитет по рогейну. Благодаря этому, затем были проведены многие другие рогейны в Северной Америке. Короткие рогейны был проведен в Адирондак в восточной части США Кегом Гудом, Биллом Джемисоном и их коллегами. Сухая местность Аризоны была идеальной для проведения соревнований по рогейну. Рогейны также были проведены в Колорадо, Калифорнии, Нью-Йорке, Вирджинии и на Аляске.

В 1993 году восточный район Каскадных гор был снова использован для большого рогейна, когда был проведён Чемпионат Западного полушария по рогейну на Столовой Горе, который позже стал Чемпионатом Северной Америки по рогейну.

Об успехе рогейна в США свидетельствуют почти 150 рогейнов в 19 штатах в течение первых десяти лет. Некоторые люди играли ключевую роль в этом успехе, в том числе члены МФР Эрик Смит и Боб Реддик, лидирующие рогейнеры и ориентировщики Петр Гагарин, Кег Гуд и Карл Мур.

8-9 мая 2004 года в США в Аризоне был проведён 6-й Чемпионат Мира по рогейну. Соединенные Штаты также был награждены Международной Федерацией Рогейна 12-ым Чемпионатом мира по рогейну, который пройдёт 16-17 августа 2014 года в Южной Дакоте.

История рогейна в Новой Зеландии (Кен Даулинг)

Кен Даулинг организовал первый 24-х часовой рогейн в Новой Зеландии в 1994 году, и с Майклом Вудом, представлял интересы Новой Зеландии в Международной Федерации Рогейна.

Первые соревнования по рогейну в Новой Зеландии были организованы Майклом Вудом и Джимом Максвеллом их клуба ориентирования Хатт Валлей в районе Веллингтона на Северном острове. Первые соревнования с 1991 года были только 4-х часовыми, но были увеличены до 12 часов в 1995 году, а в 1996 году клуб ориентирования Хокс-Бей организовал 12-ти часовой рогейн.

До первого рогейна в Новой Зеландии, уже были традиции соревнований по навигации на пересечённой местности, идеи которых были взяты у клуба альпинизма Мельбурнского университета. Среди них 24-часовой прогулки в районы Кентербери и Южных земель и горные марафоны, которые проводились с 1980 года. Первый 6-ти часовой рогейн на Южном острове был организован Грэмом Фритом в 1992 году.

В 1994 году клуб ориентирования Данидин организовал первые в Новой Зеландии 24-х часовые соревнования по рогейну возле Ванага в Отаго. Этот рогейн включал также 12-ти и 6-ти часовые соревнования и привлёк 142 участников, в том числе из Австралии. 2-й Чемпионат Новой Зеландии были проведён в Крейджиберн в Кентербери.

Существует значительный потенциал для развития рогейна в Новой Зеландии, особенно учитывая её выдающиеся пейзажи и подходящие для рогейна районы в сочетании с сильной культурой активного отдыха, такие как походы и широкий интерес к рогейну. Это было признано на присуждении 4-го Чемпионата мира по рогейну клубам ориентирования города Крайстчерч в 2000 году. Кроме того, Новая Зеландия была награждена Международной федерацией Рогейну 9-м Чемпионатом мира по рогейну в 2010 году в Чевиот.

История рогейна в Южной Африке

Рогейн в Южной Африке был впервые проведён Питером Малдером и ROC клубом в Йоханнесбурге.
Первый рогейн состоялся в 2003 году в области Suikerbosrand в 50 км к юго-востоку от Йоханнесбурга, также соревнования проводились и в последующие годы.
Южная Африка также регулярно представлена на Чемпионатам мира по рогейну.

История рогейна в Бразилии

Соревнования по рогейну проводятся в южной и центральной Бразилии. Рогейну начал развитие в Бразилии под руководством Хосе Нильтон Сильва Варгас в январе 2006 года около Южной Какапавы в Рио-Гранде-ду-Сул. Первый 24-х часовой рогейн был проведён в Мату-Гросу-ду-Сул в ноябре 2008 года.

История рогейна в Японии

6-ти часовой рогейн был проведён в Сугадайра, Нагано, к западу от Токио в 2002 году, 6-ти или 12-ти часовые рогейны также проводились каждый последующий год.
В 2008 году была проведена серия из десяти соревнований по рогейну продолжительностью 3 - 6 часов.
Ассоциация рогейна Японии была создана в июне 2009 года и в настоящее время в Японии 400 спортсменов-рогейнеров.

История рогейна в Гонконге

Первый 24-х часовой рогейн в Гонконге был проведён Патриком Нг после участия в 7-м Чемпионате мира по рогейну в 2006 году. Он был проведен в Сай Гунг на Новых Территориях в северо-западной части острова Гонконг и привлёк 663 участников. 6-ти часовой рогейну стал регулярным мероприятием на острове Лантау, и привлёк 700 участников в 2008 году. Рогейн в Гонконге эффективно рекламируется в метро.

История рогейна в Израиле

Первый рогейна в Израиле был проведён в 2005 году под руководством Дэн Чиссика. Это был 8-ми часовой рогейн в лесу Алонима и привлёк более 100 команд. Ежегодные рогейны последовали в 2006 году в Президентском лесу, в 2007 года в Рамот Менаше и в 2009 в Бен-Шемен. Участвовало около 250-300 человек, а в 2009 году рогейн включал 12-ти часовой формат со стартом в полночь.

Источники:
Материалы Международной Федерации Рогейна
Мюррей Фоубистер
Боб Реддик
Кен Даулинг